The Internship: The Final Week

I’m back from Bristol! I somehow ended up buying a first class ticket for the whole journey home, which was certainly a nice way to round off my adventures.

It’s been a very good two weeks for me, working at BBC Focus Magazine, and I’m pleased to say that I’ve got my name in the two upcoming issues as a contributor. I’ve also had another article published on the website, so that’s now three extra pieces of published work to add to my belt.

So what have I learned?

I’ve been introduced to some websites that include the most recently released science news (as well as embargoed news), which I’ve then written up for the website. After the embargo is lifted, it’s always interesting to see what other news outlets and websites have picked up the stories.

I’ve also gotten much better at contacting experts for quotes to use within features, it’s mostly been done by email, but I did have to do a very quick phone interview (gulp) – it went well though and I didn’t have to type like a mad woman holding the phone because of a recording device you hook up that records the conversation, meaning you don’t miss anything.

More than anything, I’ve been able to see the amount of work that the team behind a magazine get up to, there’s only 7-8 people who actually work for Focus, and they have to organise every aspect of the magazine, so kudos to them.

I’ve also experienced what it’s actually like to have that 9-5 type of life. It’s not something that I’ve ever done for more than a week (with previous internships), but it’s nice to be able to come home and not have to work on anything else, which is very unlike life at uni.

My name and work are going to be included in the June and July issues of Focus magazine, so if you can, buy the magazine and have a look out for my name!

The work doesn’t stop here though – I’ve now got a manic month of feature writing, essay writing, thesis proposals and magazine production, as well as a shorthand exam. So, as you can imagine, I may not be able to put up some new work here for now!

If you’ve missed my three previous posts about my internship, you can find them here, here and here. The latter posts includes a gallery with pictures of Bristol, it really is a nice city with plenty to offer.

Leave a Reply

