The Internship: Day 1

I have an internship! It’s two weeks long, unpaid and on the other side of the country, but experience is experience and it’s at BBC Focus, a well respected science and technology magazine that’s based here in Bristol.

Unknown

So how did I get it?

As part of my course, we have to have at least two weeks work experience. As a science journalist, I was obviously wanting something along those lines, so imagine my surprise when I heard back from the magazine so quickly!

Different places, whether they be newspapers, magazines, a PR company or even just the media office of an organisation, will all want you to apply in a different way. Some want just an email with your CV, some will want to do an interview with you and some (I was going to apply to The Telegraph and they wanted me to do this) want you to answer set questions and even make Youtube videos.

Luckily for me, I had to send off that all important email, including my brand new and up-to-date CV and previous examples of work (some of which I got from here).

In a previous blog post, I lamented that the prices of internships can reach into the thousands of pounds. Luckily, this work experience isn’t as expensive, but it certainly hasn’t come cheap. I’m renting a holiday flat for two weeks, which has really upped the price, but by not having to pay ridiculous prices for breakfast, lunch and dinner everyday, I hope that I may have saved money elsewhere.

Internships - why you cost me money?
Internships – why you cost me money?

What will I be doing/what have I done?

Well, it’s only been my first day here, but here’s the recap. I got there at 10 o’clock (it’s 9 o’clock starts for the rest of the week) and had the welcome tour. I got seated at my desk and set straight to work.

Their regular feature at Focus is called Mega Pixel, these are double page pictures that are pretty darn spectacular, accompanied by a couple of hundred words of copy describing what the picture is and what it means, including a quote from an expert in the field. I started the research on them today, and tomorrow will be harassing ringing up people for said quotes (I’m not a talk on the phone person…I go all squeaky like a child).

I’ve also been writing copy for another feature about weird science news, but I’m not revealing what it is because you should go and buy the next edition and read it for yourself!

Anywho…this is the first of a few blog posts documenting my time here, I may manage everyday, but then again, I may not. If you’re lucky, I may manage to take a few pictures of Bristol at the weekend fill a post with pictures a la the last time I did a big internship.

Bye!

 

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

